A portaband saw just changed my life

zcd

Some of you might know that I'm a hobbyist maker - I like to putter around on the weekends and make knives for friends and family. I have a modest shop with basic tools, an anvil and small forge. Yesterday I was hacksawing my way through a 1/4" x 4" bar of 5160 that was too wide to heat in the forge, and after 45 minutes I'd made up my mind - enough was enough. This morning I headed over to my neighbourhood home depot and picked up a Milwaukee 120v portable band saw and some blades - I'm pretty sure this was one of the better decisions I've made in 2013! The amount of time saved in 30 minutes of cutting up thick bar stock boggles my mind. If you're on the fence about upgrading, do yourself a favor and pick one up!

ZCD,
The right tool makes all the difference in the shop. You can use the metal bandsaw for smaller wood pieces and book matching if you have patience. You will want a 4 x36 or larger flat sanding machine. I have flattened scales on my 2 x 72 platen, but its a true art form to get them even on one.

I picked up a 4x6 at HF. Man I agree. Just putting a piece of 1" brass round on it made my day. Not to mention sectioning off a piece of railroad track. Just put it on and let it run for a while.

Having the right tool for the job is one of those things that always pays for itself in the long run. Even for the hobbiest. Just makes things that more enjoyable which is the biggest benefit IMHO.

I think something around the first 20 knives I did were with a hacksaw. I didn't currently have the budget for a nice portaband and plan on upgrading to a full sized upright metal cutting saw once I have a larger shop, so I went ahead and got the HF model with the 2yr exchange plan. I got out the door for $80 and I'm still on the stock blade, which some claim is terrible, but has worked fine with me. I have a couple spare high quality blades that I haven't even gotten into yet.