ATS-55

How does ATS-55 (as used in the Spydies) compare to, say, ATS-34 (a la BM), or to the GIN-1/G-2 in the Spydies, or the AUS-#?

I have looked at all the steel charts I can find, and know the number comparisons. What I am looking for is opinions on how it actually works, holds an edge, resharpens, etc.

Thanks,
Evin

I'm no expert, believe me, but I think the correct "firing order" is as follows:
1: ATS 34
2: ATS 55
3: Gin1 (G2)
4: AUS 10
5: AUS 8
6: AUS 6

AUS 6,8,&10 are similar to 440 A,B,&C.
Sorry if this is confusing. -AR

P.S. I'll leave the details up to the real knife nuts!!! hehehe

[This message has been edited by Jackyl (edited 09 March 1999).]

I prefer ATS-55 over ATS-34 because it isn't as brittle as 34 is. Sharpness and edge retention are the same from what I have experienced. Cobalt is used in ATS-55 which makes it less brittle.

GIN 1 or G-2 is also a very high grade steel. I do prefer this over ATS-34 as well for the same reason, not as brittle, though it does loose edge retention just short of ATS-55 and ATS-34.

AUS-8 isn't brittle, gets a razor sharp edge, but, does dull faster than the these other 3 do. But on the good side, AUS-8 is much more rust resistance than these other 3 are.

My order of these listed above only,

ATS-55,
GIN 1 or G-2,
AUS-8,
ATS-34.

There are some other steels which fall in btween these or above that I like better, but these are the order of just the ones brought up here on this thread that I prefer.

Mark

" Knife Collectors Are Sharp People
smile.gif
"

------------------

A little history for you.
ATS-34/154CM/BG42 are materials initially designed for bearings. The added Molybdenum gives these grades an ability to be tempered or heated to over 1000 degrees without losing hardness. 440C will soften at high temps which is why it is not used in bearing applications.

These other grades ATS 55, Gin 1, etc are all variations of high carbon 420 stainless. The