AUS 8 Quality??

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by dutch_0311, Mar 17, 2008.

1. dutch_0311

dutch_0311

Feb 29, 2008
    My current primary fixed blade is an SOG Seal Pup Elite which is made of AUS 8 steel. I am just starting to learn about the quality of different steels and am aware of the quality of great steels like 154cm and S30V. However, I have never heard anything good about AUS 8. I have concluded that it may not be a very highly recommended steel, but I am not sure. Is AUS 8 the kind of quality I want in my primary fixed blade or should I begin looking at replacing my SP Elite for something with better steel?

2. jacktrades_nbk

jacktrades_nbk

Feb 7, 2007
    aus 8 it used now in cold steel s formerly carbon v blades
    i dont think its a bad steel, well, not the best, but among the good ones anyway
    (it has vanadium content, from what i remember)
    i say use the knife and see for yourself
    after all, it aint 420 , and its better than aus4 and aus 6

3. Dan Lequin

Dan Lequin Banned BANNED

Feb 28, 2008
    its a good steel! like any steel from any good manufacturers! use it keep it sharp! :)

4. rebeltf

rebeltf

Jan 29, 2005
    There is a search function up top , works like a charm most of the time.

There are a ton of threads on this very tired subject.

Aus 8 takes a wicked edge and holds it comparitivly, combined with ease of sharpening and it's resistance to stains , it is a fantastic steel.

That is my opinion , I'm sure other opinions will follow.

5. jacktrades_nbk

jacktrades_nbk

Feb 7, 2007
    i have a ti-lite in aus8, scary shaving sharp, right out of the box, and a typhoon bali also in aus 8, which i used it some time, and it holds the edge quite good, (the cuts from flipping stand for proof :D)

6. Silverdagger

Silverdagger

Dec 18, 2006