Comparison of CPM M4 HC, ZDP-189, M390, and S30V edge retention

knarfeng

senex morosus moderator
Staff member
Super Mod
Howdy
Dennis Strickland has an amazing collection of cutlery. Whether it be the nicest GEC traditional or the latest hot alloy, Dennis probably has it. He also has the knowledge base to go with it, as he’s been collecting and using knives for a long time (longer than I, and I’ve been using knives for ~50 years). Dennis and I occasionally discuss blades and steel via PM. Recently, Dennis asked me if I would like to try some high-end PM steels. Now obviously, since I never met a steel alloy I didn’t like, I said, “Yes, please.”
Without further ado, Dennis sent me 3 exotic PM steel blades to try: ZDP-189, M390, and CPM M4 HC. I added in my own S30V just for the fun of it.

Test Method:
If you’ve read my testing posts, you know my methods, Watson.
http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641279
http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=743238
http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=769447

If you’re you are familiar with the test method, skip down to the steel section. (You can do this anyway but if you aren’t familiar with my test method, my results will make more sense to you if you read the next couple of paragraphs.)

There are a number of factors that enter in to blade performance, several of which have more impact on edge retention than blade alloy does.
- Blade geometry
- Edge Angle
- alloy composition
- Alloy hardness.
I try to control as many as possible.
- I measure the hardness of each blade. (I can’t control the hardness, but it helps me understand what I am testing and helps me reach conclusions.)
- I modify the edge angles so that they are all the same (15° per side)
- I do my best to put an equally sharp edge on each blade. In this set of tests I used DMT diamond stones, X-tra Coarse, Coarse, Fine, X-tra Fine.