Considering a Shirogorov

dilinger

Gold Member
Hi there,
I'm a newb to upscale knives, and I'm considering a Shirogorov. What knife should I be looking at for hard use? I'm a cop, and I'll carry the knife daily. I like the look of the 95T, but you folks will know better what I should carry. Also, is 3 Bears worth the extra money? I appreciate any suggestions the hive has for me!
Thanks,
D

Wow, it’s rare to hear of a cop looking into high end knives. Really cool.

If you will be doing abusive tasks with the Shiro I think you will be disappointed as they are designed to be good cutters/slicers and a frame lock is probably not the best lock for abnormal knife tasks. Don’t get me wrong, they are excellent knives for normal knife tasks. I would get the Shiro for off duty carry, then get something like a Spyderco or Cold Steel for duty. This is only my opinion, others may differ.

Go for the 95T and don’t look back. It can handle hard use with ease. Unless you’re thinking of prying in which I would recommend the xm-24 Spanto.

Go for the 95T and don’t look back. It can handle hard use with ease. Unless you’re thinking of prying in which I would recommend the xm-24 Spanto.

I have to agree with this. Any 95 series will work and do well, unless you are going to do some more abusive tasks, like prying. If that's the case, I'd sway towards a hinderer or a zt 0550 (discontinued).

Thanks for the reply, gents!! So, it looks like the 95 is my knife. What model, and who should I buy from?

recon1 used to be the only american distributor, but knifecenter also carries them, I would probably go to them

fwiw, if you want hard use EDC, have you considered a fixed blade? that would be your toughest option and with a horizontal belt sheath should be great to carry and the fastest most reliable option

Sounds like you want the knife, and that's usually a good enough reason for me.