1. Click here to enter the drawing for your chance to win an Spyderco C230GPPBK Lil Native Black Blade & Ka-Bar Dozier Folding Hunter, , Bladeforums.com swag or memberships!

Be sure to read the rules before entering, then help us decide next week's giveaway by hitting the poll in that thread! Entries close at midnight, Saturday Nov 16!

Once the entries close, we'll live stream the drawing on Sunday, Nov 17 at 5PM Eastern. Tune in to our YouTube channel TheRealBladeForums for a chance to win bonus prizes!

Questions? Comments? Post in the discussion thread here
  2. Esav Benyamin has passed. Please pay your respects here

CPM 3V vs. A2

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by Grego, Oct 2, 2007.

1. Grego

Grego

Apr 22, 2007
    I have no real experience with either steel...so please educate me. In a blade 71/2" to 10" which steel would display the best overall characteristics?

2. trailside22

trailside22

Sep 8, 2005
    I have knives with 7 1/2 inch blade in both CPM-3V (Fehrman) and in A2 (Reeves). In my useage and testing I have been very impressed with the CPM-3V. It holds an edge for a long, long time. They A2 is a great steel and is a little easier to resharpen than the 3V. With diamond the 3V is not bad and it holds an edge so long that is does not need sharpening much, just stropping every now and then. You are going to get someone to tell you that 3V rusts easily, I have not found that to be the case and I have 4 Fehrman knives in CPM-3V. It does not rust anymore than A2. Both are very good steels and would not hesitate to use either. I have chopped and batoned with both steels and never had a problem with either one. However, given the choice I really like 3V. I also have a smaller knife in CPM-3V and A2 and tested them skinning a Russian wild boars. The CPM-3V held an edge long than a Dozier in D2 or a Bark River in A2. Good luck both are good steels.

3. HoB

HoB

May 12, 2004