• The rules for The Exchange can be found here. Please read and follow them. Stop using Paypal Friends & Family and follow our best practices to prevent getting ripped off or having a bad deal.

Customer service from AMK sharpeners

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feedback: 10 / 0 / 0
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
392
"I typically wont bother venting over the internet but just wanted to give you guys a heads up over what kind of experience you will have trying to deal with Advanced Manufacturing Koncepts

I currently have a wicked edge pro pack 2 and liked the idea of the amk-75 , so I tried to buy one, i sent them an email about a week ago, didn't hear anything back so i figured they were just busy so i called , very short, had absolutely 0 interest in selling me anything."





***Edit: owner has stepped up to fix this situation, that deserves some respect.
I would say worth dealing with if they would be wiling to do that :thumbsup:

In red is my initial edited opinion, I called today and had a good conversation with the owner, everything worked out for the best. I think we were probably both having an off day / maybe overworked o_O lol, He is actually a nice guy that you can talk to and resolve problems with, Which is very important regardless of which way things were going! I put my order in. Will post a review on it when i get it :thumbsup:.
 
Last edited:
F, em. Let me rot if they’re gonna treat you like that. If it was an accident they should pay better attention to who’s answering their phones. This is unacceptable. We’ve all sharpened knives for hundreds of years without them and can go another 100 if needed. I was Interested in one product they offered till hearing this. Hopefully they’ll contact you with apologies. Keep us up to date.
 
Good customer service doesn’t exist any more. I was on the phone with UPS and My Choice all day just to get them to find out why I don’t get shipping notifications any more. 4 reps couldn’t do it !! 4!! They weren’t rude tho, like AMK ‘s rep, just stupid and unintelligible. Sorry you had to deal with that
 
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. I was fortunate to have a great experience buying my AMK-75 from them; I had quite a few questions and they were always quite quick to answer.
 
I
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. I was fortunate to have a great experience buying my AMK-75 from them; I had quite a few questions and they were always quite quick to answer.
I wish my experience was the same!
Would really like one.
If you ever talk to them tell them about me, maybe someone answered the phone that shouldn't have, but wouldn't explain the unanswered email, when I told him about the email he right away asked where I was from because I included in the email I was from Ontario, and right away he got defensive about the fact they only sell domestically... which is fine but I have the means of someone there buying for me and shipping for me, which I tried to explain.
 
Last edited:
Yes, this gentleman called me and said he was in Canada. I said, and I quote
" I am sorry but we don't sell internationally" even to Canada.
(As a side note: international shipping is very difficult and a pile of paperwork).
He then proceeded to ask if we were going to the Ohio Knife show.
I told him that we would not be attending that show but here is what we
may be able to do to help him.... At that point he hung up on us and the call ended.
I can only guess that he got mad after I told him we would not be at the Ohio show.
If he would have waited about 5 seconds I was going to work out some way for him
to cross the border and pick up a system (which we have done several times).
Because he would not allow me to reply, the conversation ended badly and without a
favorable outcome for him.

AMK, LLC has always made customer support before and after the sale one of our major goals.
We have thousands of customers that can testify to to that fact.
We still would like to clear this matter up if possible and see if there is any way to get him a system.
In conclusion, if there was some miss communication on our part then I as the owner do apologize.
 
I typically wont bother venting over the internet but just wanted to give you guys a heads up over what kind of experience you will have trying to deal with :poop:Advanced Manufacturing Koncepts:poop:

I currently have a wicked edge pro pack 2 and liked the idea of the amk-75 , so I tried to buy one, i sent them an email about a week ago, didn't hear anything back so i figured they were just busy so i called , well what a rude SOB, very short, ignorant, had absolutely 0 interest in selling me anything.

For the life of me I don't know how people like this stay in business.
I would still like to buy something along these lines if anyone knows of a different manufacturer selling something similar.

I would definitely think twice about dealing with these people, if this is how they treat a first time customer imagine how they would treat someone with a warranty claim :thumbsdown::mad::thumbsdown:

Yes, this gentleman called me and said he was in Canada. I said, and I quote
" I am sorry but we don't sell internationally" even to Canada.
(As a side note: international shipping is very difficult and a pile of paperwork).
He then proceeded to ask if we were going to the Ohio Knife show.
I told him that we would not be attending that show but here is what we
may be able to do to help him.... At that point he hung up on us and the call ended.
I can only guess that he got mad after I told him we would not be at the Ohio show.
If he would have waited about 5 seconds I was going to work out some way for him
to cross the border and pick up a system (which we have done several times).
Because he would not allow me to reply, the conversation ended badly and without a
favorable outcome for him.

AMK, LLC has always made customer support before and after the sale one of our major goals.
We have thousands of customers that can testify to to that fact.
We still would like to clear this matter up if possible and see if there is any way to get him a system.
In conclusion, if there was some miss communication on our part then I as the owner do apologize.
I am willing to let this gentleman have the AMK-75 for our old price of $699 and I will pay the shipping to
a pick up point in the lower 48 states.
 
If this is the way it went down you would have had a sale yesterday I did hang up after I was made to feel like an idiot for tying to spend my $, that part is true. On that note seeing as you took the time to write this I am still willing to work with you to buy one If this was the case of one or both of us having a bad day or simple communication error I will update the thread to a more positive one.
 
If this is the way it went down you would have had a sale yesterday I did hang up after I was made to feel like an idiot for tying to spend my $, that part is true. On that note seeing as you took the time to write this I am still willing to work with you to buy one If this was the case of one or both of us having a bad day or simple communication error I will update the thread to a more positive one.

Give me a call and we can work this out.
I need the ship to point in the states so you can pick up the sharpener.
AMK, LLC
 
No one was present during that phone conversation so it is hard to determine as to what exactly transpired with nuances but perhaps both parties were not on their best A-Game. However, here are my thoughts directed at the OP:

It seems to me that you became quite frustrated and indignant when you were informed that the seller does not ship internationally, even if that destination is our friendliest neighbor to the north. I get this frustration but after reading the thread, I really feel that you went quite overboard with painting a very bad picture of this vendor. I put much more stock in zmbhntr's feedback of this vendor than that of yours which clearly appears to be out of spite and anger based on your knee-jerk reaction.

This attitude that, "the vendor refused to take my money" is one of entitlement. By and large, a vendor can and may refuse sale / service to anyone other than those politically incorrect reasons which we will not go into in order to stay on topic. Your indignation prompted you to post several posts, including this thread to paint a terrible image of this seller. I am very glad that someone alerted this vendor to your negative sentiments so that he could come in here to step and and to defend his reputation. With due respect, sandwiching his business name in between 2 :poop:s and concluding with :thumbsdown::mad::thumbsdown: regarding possible warranty claims without any other tangible experiences with either the product or the vendor, is juvenile to express it mildly.
 
No one was present during that phone conversation so it is hard to determine as to what exactly transpired with nuances but perhaps both parties were not on their best A-Game. However, here are my thoughts directed at the OP:

It seems to me that you became quite frustrated and indignant when you were informed that the seller does not ship internationally, even if that destination is our friendliest neighbor to the north. I get this frustration but after reading the thread, I really feel that you went quite overboard with painting a very bad picture of this vendor. I put much more stock in zmbhntr's feedback of this vendor than that of yours which clearly appears to be out of spite and anger based on your knee-jerk reaction.

This attitude that, "the vendor refused to take my money" is one of entitlement. By and large, a vendor can and may refuse sale / service to anyone other than those politically incorrect reasons which we will not go into in order to stay on topic. Your indignation prompted you to post several posts, including this thread to paint a terrible image of this seller. I am very glad that someone alerted this vendor to your negative sentiments so that he could come in here to step and and to defend his reputation. With due respect, sandwiching his business name in between 2 :poop:s and concluding with :thumbsdown::mad::thumbsdown: regarding possible warranty claims without any other tangible experiences with either the product or the vendor, is juvenile to express it mildly.

You are completely out to lunch with your analysis of the situation, not that you care, you have already sided with the vender so nothing i can say will make you think otherwise. It was a good business decision on his part to come on here and try to and resolve things, which i do applaud and respect. I wrote that initial feedback about an hr after it happened , so i had a chance to calm down, it wasn't instant or it would have been much more "juvenile" to put it mildly. It had nothing to do with his shipping policy, i can figure out a way to get around most obstacles like that, i find it challenging :), i wouldn't get upset just because he doesn't ship outside usa. That was my initial impression with them, i really hope others experiences are different. The only "entitlement" i have is the expectation of getting polite, courteous treatment and prompt service when i go out of my way to try and support a business that is selling something, if that is too much to ask in your opinion than i would hate to do business with you.
I started a separate thread in the Busse forum because i am pretty loyal to them and wanted to give them a heads up in case they don't read the feedback section, there was already 2 people happy with amk, i just added my 2 cents.
I have no reason to make anything up, never even heard of amk until a little while ago.
 
Give me a call and we can work this out.
I need the ship to point in the states so you can pick up the sharpener.
AMK, LLC
Thanks , will do!
I appreciate you wanting to work this out. I will lock this so it doesn't stay in the limelight :thumbsup:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top