dogs against bad guys in urban environment?

I recently read that owning a dog is the best security system around . When a bg here barking he will most likely go onto another house. My question is what do you guys think about the statement above and if there are anyone experience in this field what is best dog to get to deter possible threat? Dobbie, rottie, pit bull? etc..

Thanks ahead of time the reason i asked is because I travel a lot and the wife is home alone.

I'm no expert, but I have been around quite a few dogs. My unlce has owned two rottweilers, and he has had good experiences with both. He has two kids, and they got along fine. He did, however, get them form a reputable breeder, and they went through a bit of training from his local K9 unit (he is a Lieutenant in the Police force).

Anyway, I personally like German Shepherds a lot, because they look friendly enough unless you piss them off, and they are fast, too.

I have no experience with Dobermans, but I would avoid pitbulls not just because of their innate instability, but because of the impression people get of the owners based on their dog. Shepherds are family dogs, Rots and Dobies are elegant, but pitbulls are just vicious, ugly animals.

First of all, you shouldn't get a dog for a security system.

The dog should be a companion and member of the family.

Buy from a breeder with a good reputation and don't try to save a few bucks; you get what you pay for and you will have the dog for around 12 years.

I also think basic obedience training is very important.

All the dogs you have mentioned are good.

They are natural protectors and I would not do anything to make them more aggressive.

I would recommend a security system and pistol training as well.

If I had to choose a bred; a small female rottweiler can't be beat.

Mr. Lecture