First time posting here, thought I should say hello

mds

Hello, my name is Matt and I've been making knives in Philadelphia for about four/five months now. I'm still trying to get my hands on decent tools but I've managed to put together a tiny shop in a very cramped space. I'm using the Grizzly 2x72 and I don't hate it nearly as much as other people seem to but I've never used a nicer variable speed grinder so my opinion might someday change. I have made a few knives that I'm fairly proud of with it though so I think of it fondly for now.

I've avoided posting here forever because I couldn't wrap my head around this place but some folks over on another forum told me it was time to get my act together and introduce myself. Please excuse my ignorance if this is the wrong place or way to go about introducing myself. Anyway, I suppose you'd rather look at knives than hear about me so here are a few from my first few months. Thanks for looking.

24147331216_9bf21029af_c.jpg

So far I've only made about three styles of knives, two camp knives and a skinner. This one is the larger of the two camp knives. 1/8" O1 with a 4" blade and about 9" overall. The handle is G10 with vulcanized fiber spacers/liners but I'm not a fan of them so I'll probably stop with that from here on out and stick to G10 or metals.

24173433525_aef19fece3_z.jpg

This is one of the smaller camp knives. This one went to my brother for hunting season this year. It's also O1 (actually all of my knives are O1 so far). I've made a few of these now but this one turned out pretty ok (for me, anyway).

23546658993_255e76e38f.jpg

This was one got finished a while ago and it kind of bugs me now. It turned out alright but seeing the photos now I realize I should have rounded the handle over better. I used Burlap micarta and again, vulcanized fiber liners because I couldn't get my hands on any yellow G10 that was bright enough to look good.

24090846691_37c891c8c2_z.jpg