Flat grind versus Hollow grind

I am relatively new to the world of knife making. All my knives to date have been flat ground. I'd like to try hollow grinding but at the moment don't have a large enough contact wheel.My Question here is are either of these grinding method better then the other, and which one would help provide better edge holding abilities.
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

Thankyou
Steve

Steve-

I doubt anyone is going to reply directly to this. It has been asked many times, and there is never a definitive answer. I think there are as many answers to this as there are knifemakers.

If you search the archives you'll find the arguments to this question.

Mine are on there too
wink.gif

Nick

"Generally" speaking, hollow grinding seems to be not quite as difficult as flat grinding. I primarily flat grind but hollow grinding (for me) does not take as long to grind.

Another "general" statement that is "generally" true is that you can get a hollow ground edge sharper but a flat ground blade will hold an edge longer and is tougher just as a result of the blade geometry.

Nine times out of ten the above is true but there is always that exception to the rule.

Here is the general run down:
1) Hollow Grind- Thin edge that takes a razor edge,but the edge is the weakest of all the grinds, works good for skinning and slicing chores great.
2) Flat Grind- can have a thin edge but wont be as keen as a hollow ground edge,But the edge is stronger during ruff duty jobs such as chopping,works great for skinning slicing and chopping.
3)Convex Grind-The srongest of the grinds but wont take as sharp of a edge as the rest.This grind is the best for ruff duty use such as chopping,it holds it's edge the longest of the three,works great for skinning,chopping but not fine cutting chores.
The flat grind has the best of both worlds as it will hold a keen edge but has strength for ruff duty chores...
Hope this helps,
Bruce

------------------