Half Hawk Blade

There is also a "Lambsfoot", however, they are not the same as a "Sheepsfoot". I believe the Lambsfoot blade has a taper, whereas the Sheepsfoot does not. From what I've seen here on the forums, the Lambsfoot blade is also longer than a Sheepsfoot.
All of the "Half Hawk" knives I've seen have a Sheepsfoot blade, and a different handle profile from the Lambsfoot knives I've seen.
Also, a lot of the Half Hawk knives (for example, those by Rough Rider) have a secondary Pen blade. However, the lack of a secondary blade doesn't mean it is a Lambsfoot. My 9 dot Case 031(?) is a single blade Sheepsfoot.

I am not an expert on the Lambsfoot. That person would be Mr. Jack Black Jack Black .

EDIT: There is also the Wharncliffe blade, but it has a "stabber" point than the Lambsfoot and Sheepsfoot blades do.

Last edited:
There is also a "Lambsfoot", however, they are not the same as a "Sheepsfoot". I believe the Lambsfoot blade has a taper, whereas the Sheepsfoot does not. From what I've seen here on the forums, the Lambsfoot blade is also longer than a Sheepsfoot.
All of the "Half Hawk" knives I've seen have a Sheepsfoot blade, and a different handle profile from the Lambsfoot knives I've seen.
Also, a lot of the Half Hawk knives (for example, those by Rough Rider) have a secondary Pen blade. However, the lack of a secondary blade doesn't mean it is a Lambsfoot. My 9 dot Case 031(?) is a single blade Sheepsfoot.

I am not an expert on the Lambsfoot. That person would be Mr. Jack Black Jack Black .

EDIT: There is also the Wharncliffe blade, but it has a "stabber" point than the Lambsfoot and Sheepsfoot blades do.
The "half-hawk" knife has nothing to do with Lambsfoot knives, beside for the fact they both sport straight edged blades.
As far as I know, Rough Riders are the only ones to sell a knife called a Half-Hawk. I wonder if it's so named because it is built on the same frame as the Hawkbill Pruner.
20180122_074948-1.jpg