1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help me aquire a Chef Knife.

Discussion in 'Kitchen Cutlery & Tools' started by FOG2, Dec 27, 2018.

1. FOG2

FOG2 Gold Member Gold Member

Nov 1, 2007
    I cook for a living and i'm a knife nut. For the past few years the lightly modified Mundail 10 inch x 2.25 cook/chef knife shown below has served me well.
    20181227_135408.jpg
    But I now would like to acquire something similar but in a better steel.
    Specs I would like in my new knife = at least the same length and width, but not opposed to longer and wider, Stainless steel and hopefully a wooden handle.
    The knife will be used daily but well cared for and will be used on Veggies and Boneless meats.
    A Laser type knife is intriguing to me but in truth the Mundail I am using is the best and most used knife I have experience with in kitchens. (Yes I know thats sad)
    If possible I would like for it to be made by one of the craftsman that frequent this subforum.
    My budget would be $300.00 so that might mean not a Custom knife but a production one.
    I haven't found a production knife in the specs I've spoken of tho.
    Let the hunt begin!

Eric J.S. likes this.
  2. Eli Chaps

Eli Chaps Basic Member Basic Member

Apr 20, 2018
    While I don't own one, I think a Richmond (it's a large retailer's house brand name) 210mm Gyuto in BD1N would require hard look. Less than $100 and can currently be had with a "complimentary" bread knife. I'm never totally sue what vendors are okay to link to but you shouldn't have any trouble finding it.