Hunting Knife

Since it's getting to be that time of year I'm looking for some suggestions for a new hunting knife. Fixed Blade under one-hundred dollars. Leaning towards a hunting/utilty type.
P.S. I've been lurking for a while and I must say that this one of the best groups I have come upon. I have learned a great deal but realize that I'm only getting started.

[This message has been edited by runby (edited 27 August 1999).]

Deleted, I'll try again

[This message has been edited by P.J. (edited 27 August 1999).]

Ka-Bar Next Generation, or the SRK by Cold Steel are 2 I like. could get the Cold steel SRK and the Buskmaster for under $100, go for that...

cold steel master hunter is a very good hunting knife and can be had for about $40.00
everyone i hunt with has one.
I just bought a Dozier pro guide knife and i will be carrying it this year.
leaving tomrrow for elk hunting.

Do you mean a hunting knife, like you'd want for pig sticking, or a skinning knife for cleaning game?

I'll second whoever mentioned the Buck Vanguard. For me this is an ideal size and shape for deer-sized chores. Of course someone with more knowledge will be able to say how it stacks up against the high-end stuff in terms of holding an edge. I have no idea.

------------------
I don't want my children fed or clothed by the state, but I would prefer THAT to their being educated by the state.

Whoever mentioned the Ka-Bar Next Generation must hunt BIG animals. I have no idea what I would do with a blade that big around a deer. How about the rest of you? Does anybody routinely use a Ka-Bar sized knife as their main deer hunting blade?

------------------
I don't want my children fed or clothed by the state, but I would prefer THAT to their being educated by the state.

Look at the Buck Vanguard with the super-hard buckcote coating. Great design and works really well. The ZrN coating is much harder than steel, attractive, and slick finished.

Runby,