If Knife Brands Were Cars

Knife Writer

Platinum Member
I am fairly new to the pocketknife world and have been learning about blade steel metallurgy and knife brands. To make it interesting, I recently had a conversation with a friend in which we described a knife brand as a car brand. Some correlations were funny, some were ironic, and some were spot-on. Here was the list we came up with. How would you change it? Make it better? What would you add? Let me know! Thanks!

Spyderco = Audi (nice enough, but not quite top tier)
Benchmade = Cadillac (overly pricey but not worth as much as they think)
Medford = Tesla (comparing the owners, actually, and each comparison is an insult to the other)
Chris Reeve = BMW (very nice, old brand, a lot of fun to use, but not truly stellar)
Midgards Messer = Hummer (legit)
Cold Steel = Ram (tough, rugged, and on rare occasion, mildly interesting)
Boker = Trabant (Ugh. Just ugh.)
Opinel = Citroen (snoozers)
Microtech = Corvette (fast, powerful, and distinctly American)
Mora = Yugo (cheap, cheap, cheap)
Viper = Alfa Romeo (an under-estimated, Italian high performer)
Civivi = Toyota (reliable, steady, but not too exciting)
Shiragorov = Lamborghini (enough said)
Buck = Jeep (it's old and very blah)
Victorinox = Suzuki (ho hum and uninspiring)
Rockstead = McLaren (nimble, shiny, gorgeous)
CRKT = Chevy (meh)
Rike = Rivian (creative, new thinking makes things exciting)
ESEE = Subaru (outdoors, anyone?)
Ontario = Saturn (gone, long gone)
Smith & Wesson = Lada (groan)

You say you're new to the knife world but have made this many confidently-worded comparisons (most of which I'd disagree with) suggesting a vast knowledge of pocket knife brands?

What a strange post!