IS Cold Steel's Carbon V brittle?

I have been looking into buying some old cold Cold Steel carbon V blades and since the prices on these are pretty high i am wondering if they are worth the price. I have heard some stories of these blades shearing at the hilt. I have also seen stories saying this is some of the best steel ever. Since these knives are pretty old i am sure time has revealed more data points. I am wondering how brittle this steel is?

P.S I own a carbon V SRk and beat the hell out of it with no problems. Also have a never used Peacekeeper one in carbon V. After reading some post on here i began to wonder how my peace keeper would hold up if i ever used it.

Not in my experience. Should hold up just fine. Carbon V Trailmasters are known to be sharpened pry bars. I had one with stag handle, leather sheath. Wish I hadn't sold it.

Zieg

I have an old CarbonV Trailmaster that I've used hard for years with no trouble. However, I hand convexed the edge and don't baton with it.--KV

Carbon V is not a brittle steel. No more so then Kabars 1095CV. I would not worry about using one, I would also not buy one to use. For the money some want for CS carbon V you can get a better/ as good current production blade.

those earlier knives had a hard 90 transition from the blade to tang. made it a stress point. the newer ones have a radiused transition and that stopped that issue. so not really a steel issue more a design issue of that hard 90 transition and stress breaks.

those earlier knives had a hard 90 transition from the blade to tang. made it a stress point. the newer ones have a radiused transition and that stopped that issue. so not really a steel issue more a design issue of that hard 90 transition and stress breaks.

I seen problems with the recon scout but nothing else on any other models.