Is H1 a good steel for an edc knife?

Hey guys, I am planning to get a new knife next week. One that I am really leaning towards is one of the Spyderco Salts. I have no experience with H1 steel, but I read that Mr Glesser said H1 edge retention is on par with aus8. If I go with one of the Salt H1 Spyderco's, it will probably be half straight/serrated. I also read that the serrated H1 is better than VG10.
Anyway, would H1 be a good choice for an edc blade? Does the info about edge retention match your experience? Which model would you recommend as an edc blade? Btw I like medium to large knives. This knife may not be used hard, but I want something that would hold up to hard use if the need arises. Thanks

I think H1 would be a perfect choice. It is low to no maintenance. If edge holding is a concern, then get the fully serrated. The Pacific Salt is a great knife, the same basic knife as the Endura, so it is a medium to large knife. The Salt is a Delica sized knife and about perfect as a pocket knife.

Hey guys, I am planning to get a new knife next week. One that I am really leaning towards is one of the Spyderco Salts. I have no experience with H1 steel, but I read that Mr Glesser said H1 edge retention is on par with aus8. If I go with one of the Salt H1 Spyderco's, it will probably be half straight/serrated. I also read that the serrated H1 is better than VG10.
Anyway, would H1 be a good choice for an edc blade? Does the info about edge retention match your experience? Which model would you recommend as an edc blade? Btw I like medium to large knives. This knife may not be used hard, but I want something that would hold up to hard use if the need arises. Thanks

no, not good. Excellent is the word.
Large size? Pacific Salt for the win
Strong, durable edge? Serrated H1 all the way

20170515_122717_zpsn08qk2yf.jpg

It'll take use, abuse, and will be an almost maintenance-free steel in an incredibly sturdy and lightweight maintenance-free folder