Kizer Ki403A1 First impressions and pics

I purchased the Kizer Ki403A1 out of curiosity – I wanted to spend time with a frame lock knife and get to understand how S35VN steel performed in my environment – mostly light use but with serious hunting and outdoor activity thrown in occasionally. In the Kizer, I will be able to do this without spending massive money – given they run about half the price of a ZT or similar. It has also been an opportunity to scrutinise a Chinese made product – something I would normally have avoided. But the stars aligned, and I have here with me in my pocket the Kizer. This will be a review based on my initial impressions. I wanted to get some photos up too so others interested in the Kizer product have an additional resource to make an informed purchase.

This is my first review here – and I am no expert, so go easy on me

Firstly, specs from the manufacturers website:

Model: Ki403A1

Blade Thickness: 0.157"(4.0mm)
Blade Material: CPM-S35VN
Blade Length: 93.6mm 3.68''
Overall Length: 213mm 8.37''
Handle Material: 6AL4V Titanium+G10(Green)
Clip Material: 6AL4V Titanium
Weight: 4.55oz(129g)
Locking: Frame Lock
Hardness: 58-60

The knife came in a smallish cardboard box which had been opened – I asked the retailer to take some photos of the exact knife I would be getting due to there being some apparent differences from the knives on Kizer’s website – I wanted to be sure my knife had a tip up carry option for the clip. Indeed, the knife came configured for tip up already, and was supplied with a blanking screw to cover the hole for tip down. I installed this later as the knife looked incomplete without it.

Here are some pics of the Kizer: