Knife Sharpeners.

Hi all, my names Mike. *I've lurked awhile trying to read and learn, but this is my first post. (hope I don't make a fool out of myself).*
** * * * Little about myself....I'm a millwright by trade, love to hunt, fish, fly, and race bikes. I shot IPSC competitively for years and love everything to do with guns and knives. I've always had knives for hunting and fishing but in the last year or two have started collecting. Now I'm hooked much to my wife's chagrin.*
** * * So here's my question. What's your favorite knife sharpener? I currently have a spyderco triangle *sharpmaker. I get very good results on some knives but much less so on others. Not sure if it's got to do with different blade steels? I sometimes think I need a corse set of ceramic sticks. Mine came with medium and fine. What do you guys use or recommend. I'd like something fairly simple and easy to use. Most of my knives are folders or smallish fixed blades if that matters. Thanks in advance for any help.

Mike

I've had great success with the worksharp by darex. When I purchased I figured knifemakers use belt grinders why not. I love it. Lot of good info out there on it. Worksharp, leather strop and a little practice made me a happy camper. Good luck

Tie. Sharpmaker and Wet/dry sandpaper on a smooth, slightly soft substrate (like a strop hone).

I've seen this but thought I may not be skilled enough to operate it. I could see myself ruining a wonderful knife! Did it take you long to get the hang of it?

Mike

I've had great success with the worksharp by darex. When I purchased I figured knifemakers use belt grinders why not. I love it. Lot of good info out there on it. Worksharp, leather strop and a little practice made me a happy camper. Good luck

I like my Edge Pro Apex. No power equipment, no way for it to get away from me. Just stones in a fixture that sets and maintains a good angle to the blade. I have it set up in my kitchen right this second.