kraton disintegration/decay

Hi. I've been collecting knives on and off for over 20 years. Recently the kraton on a few of my knives have begun to deteriorate. In the past (about 5 years ago) the kraton on my old cold steel ready edge gradually turned into tacky goo that you could actually scrape off with your fingernail. About two years ago the same thing happened to my SOG desert dagger. Now my old original Blackjack Anaconda II is starting to exhibit the preliminary stages of this deterioration. I actually rehandled the cold steel and the SOG knife so they are still usable but i kinda wanted to keep the blackjack all original. Help! Anybody have this problem or know of a possible solution?

any sort of chemicals/preservatives/oils that you use on them?? Kraton is known to deteriorate very rapidly in exposure to deet, I would imagine there are a number of other things (maybe even oils and things like breakfree that we use on knives without a 2nd thought) that could also affect it.

In the past (about 5 years ago) the kraton on my old cold steel ready edge gradually turned into tacky goo that you could actually scrape off with your fingernail.

Welcome to my world! Same thing's happening on some of my Cold Steel knives.:jerkit:

It really ticks me off too. :mad:One of them is an overpriced Magnum Tanto.:mad:

There is no solution that I've found or even heard of, so, sorry I cannot help you there.

Re-handling is about the only option and I see you've got that problem licked. Fortunately, I have plenty of exotic hardwoods laying around, so re-handling is just a matter of choosing and doing.:)
I think what peeves me most about this is the fact that the knives themselves are great tools. A person shouldn't lay down their hard earned money on a tool only to have it's handle disintegrate in their hand.

WD-40 will dissolve rubber or plastic eventually. Sounds like the Kraton might've been exposed to some sort of solvent.