Made my first ever blade today

It was a slow day at work, and while cleaning up the shop, I found a very old, and very wore out bastard file. I tested it on the bench grinder to make sure it was high carbon and not just case hardened, annealed it, then made a little necker blade out of it.

I don’t have any knife making tools, so I did everything by hand. I cut out the rough shape with an angle grinder, then went to work with a bastard file to shape and profile it. I polished it to 220 grit and then heat treated and quenched with an oxy-acetylene torch and a bucket of used hydraulic oil. It’s in the oven tempering now at 425°. I know it’s not perfect, but I’m damn proud of, considering the tools I used and I’ve never done it before. I’m hooked now. Can’t wait to start the next one.

I do have an old forge buried in the back of the shop that belonged to my great grandpa. It’s an old coal fired forge with the hand crank fan. I’m dying to dig it out and forge my next blade.

Here’s a few pics of the blade before and after heat treatment. After tempering, I’ll polish the blade, put an edge on it and build the scales. I’d gladly appreciate any feedback y’all have. Like I said, I know it’s nowhere near perfect, and there’s already a couple of things I know I need to do better, but tell me what you think. Also, I need suggestions as to what material to use for the scales.

Hmm. I don’t have a photo sharing account at one of those site. Is that the only way to post pics? All my pics are on my phone, not on a computer.

QzlD0xm.jpg

I don’t think that worked right, but that pic is before heat treatment.

CQedGl7.jpg

All you have to do is put [ IMG ] (without the spaces) before the link and [ / IMG ] (again, without the spaces) after the link.
In imgur, when you look at your picture, on the side you should see a bunch of links. Just copy the one that says message boards and put it in your message

This pic is after heat treating.