Multicolor homemade micarta

This is a green/black/tan micarta I'm making for a customer. He wants me to sculpt the slabs to make something colorful and grippy. Since it's my first time, I tested some patterns once I cutted the unusable parts.

The clothings I bought for this.

micartajason1_big.jpg

micartajason2_big.jpg

Making the pile, aplying polyester resin in between each layer (almost 60 of them)

micartajason3_big.jpg

micartajason4_big.jpg

On the press (12 tons, and I place the clothings on some oiled 1/2" steel plates)

micartajason5_big.jpg

Right off the press.

micartajason6_big.jpg

After I tested some sculpting to gain an idea of the job ahead.

micartajason7_big.jpg

Regards,

Ariel

Ariel,
I like it. I find natural fibers work best. I did some once with a mylar threaded lame' as part of the fabric. It was difficult to get a smooth finish, as the polyester and mylar would not sand smooth, but a little superglue later, it came out okay. Wish I had a picture, as it was really unusual.
I see you're using polyester resin. I had to cut the hardener way down and use pressure and heat to get enough working time to get the layers assembled. :)

Howard

Ariel, that's really cool! It looks good, too. Hey, keep those pictures and such coming, too. I gotta give you a thumbs up, fella.

Great look Ariel. My favorite though was the one you made using bluejeans. I've got some old overalls saved up that I'm going to try that with. Bluejeans just seem so much like, well.....bluejeans.

I'll try to document all my work with this to have it post on the Knifemaking section of my website :)

The blue jeans was the first one I tried with the rods on the press to have it draw patterns without tooling the micarta.

Regards,

Ariel

Very nice Ariel! Your posts are always interesting. I made micarta years ago but you have found a way to make into an art form!

So i have to ask where did you get the "Resin "? what is it called ? that look's fun to play around with .

Pinoy,