My Sharpening Rig: Inspired by WickedEdge and ApexPro [Pict Heavy]

As virtuovice would say, "Hi Knife People!"

I'm fairly new to being a knife enthusiast; I only started about two months ago, so I'm fairly newbie-ish and my collection only has five knives. I got started with being curious about sharpening and advanced steels.

I very much like the ideas behind the WickedEdge sharpening system, as well as the EdgePro, but I can't afford several hundred dollars for a sharpener, so I had fun building one myself.

The sharpener has two orientations, "WickedEdge Mode" and "EdgePro Mode".

Here is the sharpener in "Wicked Edge Mode":
JKN1J.jpg

3uiqU.jpg

ogrnU.jpg

ZP4da.jpg

Here is the sharpener in "EdgePro Mode":
85e5g.jpg

RBOFl.jpg

Notice that the rig is basically rotated by about 90 degrees. In this mode, the knife clamp is used to hold a platform, and then the knife can rest on that platform, similar to the EdgePro setup. Right now, this is just a concept test; I still have to build some stuff to make this mode actually work.

One disadvantage of the WickedEdge geometry is that it is difficult to sharpen a knife to less that 15 degrees per side (30 deg inclusive). This is because the knife clamp gets in the way. The EdgePro setup has no clamp, so there is no limitation on how small the sharpening angle can go. I wanted this to experiment with sharpening with extremely small included angles.

For normal sharpening, I like having the knife completely clamped and fixed, and I like the idea of rapidly alternating strokes on each side of the blade, which is why I usually prefer the WickedEdge setup.

By using a 4-inch bench vise, I can change the orientation of the rig, and get which-ever setup I want. At around 10 to 15 lbs, the bench vice is heavy enough to use without mounting/bolting it to a table. The vise is useful for lots of stuff besides sharpening (drilling, sawing, filing, etc.).