Name For a Japanese Wheel

Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith

ilmarinen - MODERATOR
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I have had a senior moment, and can not recall the name for the large wheel used to grind Japanese knives. The only name that I can think of is ashi-hormono....or something like that.

The wheel is about 36-48" round and 4" wide. It revolves fairly slow and is water cooled. They are dressed with a special tool. An apprentice has to spend years learning to grind on one, and then more years learning to dress one. They are really hard to get, outside Japan.

I asked Dave Martell, and he said he has never known the name either.

Anyone know the proper name?

Kaiten Toshi - That's It!!! - Thanks Salem.
I'm not very good at Japanese, but kaiten means revolving and Toshi can mean anything from a part of town, to a year, to a reflection. I always took the term to mean "rotating sharpening stone".....AKA grinding wheel.

I was starting an ideas file for my project to build a belt grinder version of a kaiten toshi and could not pull the name out of my head. I must have seen a video from Ashi Hamano and that was why I remembered that name.
I thought of Murray, but asked Dave first.

The machine will be a water cooled 4X160" belt running on a 36" contact wheel, plus a 12" idler and a 12"drive wheel.
If I go to 48" wheel, the belt will be 4X200". I should be able to get high quality belts made up by Klingspor for about $30 each. A belt run at slow speed and water cooled should last a very long time. I am thinking 100, 220, and 400 grit.
Power will be a VFD driven 3HP 3Ph motor.
It will be heavily geared down ( 5:1) to turn the wheel about 300RPM max, and probably will get run at 100RPM for most grinding. That is a ballpark range of about 300 to 1000 SFPM.

Using the right name, I was able to re-find this build link:
http://forums.dfoggknives.com/index.php?showtopic=15046

Cool!!! that is really sweet. however, that sounds like a pretty expensive contact wheel.