New hatchet from the surplus store!

So I was heading for bass pro shop and we stopped briefly in at the surplus store. While looking around I found what I was looking for (some paracord and a small first aide kit) I spotted some cold steel tomahawks and I was liking them but then I gave it back to the fella and shook my head he showed me a hatchet that was half the price and he said it was Swiss (or Swedish? I can't remember which he told me) surplus.

I'm no expert but the head looks nice, the edge is dull and the handle might need some sanding but it feels like once it gets some TLC it's going to be a nice hatchet. I have no idea if the handle grain is the right direction or whatever (not sure which way is right)

New hatchet. https://imgur.com/gallery/sTLge

So I was heading for bass pro shop and we stopped briefly in at the surplus store. While looking around I found what I was looking for (some paracord and a small first aide kit) I spotted some cold steel tomahawks and I was liking them but then I gave it back to the fella and shook my head he showed me a hatchet that was half the price and he said it was Swiss (or Swedish? I can't remember which he told me) surplus.

I'm no expert but the head looks nice, the edge is dull and the handle might need some sanding but it feels like once it gets some TLC it's going to be a nice hatchet. I have no idea if the handle grain is the right direction or whatever (not sure which way is right)

New hatchet. https://imgur.com/gallery/sTLge
Flip through a book, that's the idea with grain orientation.
The grain should try to run as vertical as possible.

I believe these are Swedish, I've seen them in surplus and sportsmans guide catalogs a lot in the last couple years.

BTW these I believe are more of a house axe or miners axe as they're often called, It's an axe sized head on a short handle. I guess you could call it a hatchet on steroids.