1. Week 43of the BladeForums.com Year of Giveaways is live! Enter to win a Spyderco C243PBK Edela + Misc Prize Pack

Click here to enter the drawing for your chance to win a Spyderco Endela + Misc Prize Pack , Bladeforums.com swag or memberships!
    Be sure to read the rules before entering, and help us decide next week's giveaway by hitting the poll in that thread!

Entries will close at 11:59PM Saturday, Oct 26 ; winners will be drawn on Sunday @ 5pm on our Youtube Channel: TheRealBladeForums. Bonus prizes will be given during the livestream!

Questions? Comments? Post in the discussion thread here

Official Micarta Thread - Rats and Hogs!

Discussion in 'Swamp Rat Knives' started by FloridaBlade, Apr 4, 2016.

1. FloridaBlade

FloridaBlade

Mar 10, 2015
    I have been collecting various knives with micarta scales for a couple years now. In fact, one of the things that attracted me to Busse & Kin is the beautiful and unique micarta handles found on these blades.

So I thought maybe we could start a new thread to get some photos up and help identify the different variants of micarta that one might order, or we might come across on the exchange or wherever. Could be a useful database for newbies. As you know, I am kind of new here and I really don't know all the names and styles myself yet, especially on some of the older offerings that might pop up for sale.

Last time I checked, I don't think I saw where Swamp Rat or Busse even has a page on their site to help buyers actually see the basic colors of canvas micarta (black, tan, green, maroon)???

So please grab your cameras or smart phones and snap some nice CLOSEUP DETAIL SHOTS of your micarta (or other people's micarta) :D

Best examples would be close up shots of the scales in natural daylight (sitting on a table next to a window for example or in the sunlight would be great). Side-lighting is going to be best to highlight the awesome textures that have become part of the signature of the Rats and Hogs.