Old Knife Restoration Help

Hello,

So I'm still pretty new to blades, and I've just come accross my grand fathers old folders. The Boy Scout knife seems to have been pretty well preserved, looks/smells like my dad may have coated it in WD40 at some point. However, I can't even open the other two folders. I'm not sure if it's rust or corrosion or what. Any suggestions on the process I should go through in order to restore them?

Thank you all in advance!

DSCN0734.jpg

DSCN0733.jpg

I would just put a couple drops of oil in the works and let them sit for a day.

Those are nice old knives, so take care of them and be glad you've got them. Put a drop or two (that's all) of some light oil on the joints every few days or once a week for awhile until they will open again. Be patient! If you can, use something that's labeled penetrating oil. WD-40 is perhaps the most common one, but some others are probably a little better. Use you fingers to rub just a few drops of boiled linseed oil into the wooden handle scales to preserve them.

Those are nice old knives, so take care of them and be glad you've got them. Put a drop or two (that's all) of some light oil on the joints every few days or once a week for awhile until they will open again. Be patient! If you can, use something that's labeled penetrating oil. WD-40 is perhaps the most common one, but some others are probably a little better. Use you fingers to rub just a few drops of boiled linseed oil into the wooden handle scales to preserve them.

I've got WD40 and Hoppes Lubricating oil (for firearms), which of the two would you use?

Also, once I get it so that it can open again, what other restoration measures should I take?

Thanks!