Quality Folding EDC Knife under $40?

I’m looking for an Every Day Carry knife that is better quality and a little larger than the small Case knives I’ve been carrying for the past 30 years or so. Even though it’s first priority is for EDC tasks, I would still like for it to be good enough to use in a self defense situation if one arises and I don’t have my CCH.

I’ve narrowed down my options to the following based on reviews I've read and they fall under my $40 budget:

- Kershaw Cryo…love the looks of the Blackwash Speedsafe as well the standard Speedsafe; like the smaller size compared to the others

- Kershaw Cryo II…again like the looks of the Blackwash Speedsafe and standard Speedsafe but am afraid that the 4.4” folded length may be a little larger than I want to go for an EDC

- Kershaw 1990 Brawler…love the looks of this, the size is nice because it’s between the Cryo and Cryo II but it has a Tanto blade; from what I’ve read it’s a bit tougher to sharpen (and I’m not really great at sharpening knives) and a little less versatile than the standard blades

- Kershaw 1605 Clash...sized in between the Cryo and Cryo II (4.25" closed); might still like just a bit smaller but it's a nice fit between those two knives

- Spyderco Tenacious G10…don’t like the looks of it quite as good as the Cryos but still a great looking knife…however it’s even larger than the Cryo II

All of those seem a little large (at least to me) for EDC except for the Cryo which is 3.75 inches closed...all the rest are over 4 1/3 inches.

So, which of the above do you feel is the best knife for EDC (with self defense if needed)?

Or can you recommend a better option out there for under $40 that may be around that 4 inch closed length?

Also, is there an inexpensive, but good quality, and simple sharpener you would recommend? (similar to the Smith’s PP1 Pocket Pal or Lansky PS-MED01 Blade Medic)

Thanks for any help and advice you can send my way.

TripleB67

Last edited: