Quench tank welding and sealing

so I’ve made a vertical quench tank from a 4 x 6 x 48 piece of rectangular steel tube welded to a 12 x 12 plate for a base

The issue is I’m a noob at welding and the seal is not 100%.

It’s actually better than I was expecting, and when filled halfway with water it took a couple minutes before I started to see a film of moisture slowly spreading from a couple spots. With the pressure of 24” of water in the pipe I was expecting actual squirting, or at least trickle.

I don’t really want to try piling more weld bead on there, I doubt it would work actually. There’s a good bit there already.

I could grind away a lot of the bead and re-weld, but the leak is so minute I thought I might save time and trouble and simply pour 3 or 4 oz of epoxy into the tube and let gravity do the rest.

So, my QUESTION is, will Parks 50 react in any way with epoxy that would dissolve it and contaminate the oil, or cause the seal to be compromised?

If yes, is there another sealer that would work better?

I have visions of 5 gallons of parks 50 slowly leaking out over night :)

You might think about using a fuel tank sealer. I don't have any specific brand recommendation, but I imagine that if it doesn't react with gasoline or diesel, you'd be ok with Parks 50.

That said, I have a quench tank that I made years ago from some 4" PVC, with a blanked toilet flange for a base (I lined with a flue pipe to keep blades from melting the sides). I had some trouble getting a good glue up on the flange, and had a leak similar to yours. I ended up putting some epoxy putty around the corner of the seam, and it's been holding just fine ever since. I used "mighty putty" as I had some laying around that I'd bought on sale, but I imagine JB weld or any other epoxy putty would have worked.

Whatever you use, just make sure your tank is as clean and dry as you can make it, and let the sealer fully cure before adding your Parks.