Sgian Dubh

I'm getting married next January, wearing my kilt of course, anyone got any ideas about decent Sgian Dubh's? Mine is naff. Custom or otherwise, all suggestions are welcome, I'm only intending to get married once.

pmew

It's good that you had the foresight to look into this so early.

I'm not Scottish so I have no experience with dirks or sgian dubhs, but I have long admired the work of Michael McRae from Scotia Metalwork. His wares are not cheap, custom work being what it is. But having one of his knives tucked in your kilt hose on the big day strikes me as being very cool.

- Christian

I thought I'd left it pretty late to be honest. Stunning work from McRae, quite lovely. I want something I can use about the croft too though.

Thanks Christian, he's on the list....

pmew

You'd be surprised how long people put off something like this. I've read a few threads starting, "I'm getting married next month..."

No rule against using a pretty knife.

- Christian

Good point. The folder in my pocket was pretty once but now its rather beat up. I think it's as good looking as ever though.

pmew

Right, so here we are in July, and here it is.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21373568863.553758.jpg
I contacted Will Ferraby who is a Sheffield based maker and put some specifics to him and he came back to me with a very reasonable price. My specs were as follows.

Sgian Dubh in a traditional style and shape.
Must be able to be worn in hose (sock) for the wedding.
Is also going to be used as a working knife so must be full tang.
Convex grind on blade.
Dark wood handle.

Will put it to me that he had some nice ebony he could use and he then floated three different designs, I chose this one...
ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21373569851.877200.jpg
...because the blade shape was most representative of a traditional black knife.
Then work started...
ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21373569493.171827.jpg