Sharpening new SOGs

Hi, all.

I have in my humble collection a Trident Bowie, a Government Agent, an AirSOG and a Powerlock. They all came, in my opinion, razor sharp out of the box. After giving the fixed blades and the AirSOG a treatment on a Spyderco 204 sharpener, though, they became scary sharp! They are now capable of removing hair on my arm without touching the skin!

The knives saw some use before I had them sharpened, but there is no doubt that the Spyderco made them even more sharp than what they were out of the box.

Have any of you folks had any experience with the Spyderco 204? I just borrowed my brother's Spyderco for sharpening my knives, but have ordered one for myself. Patiently awaiting it's arrival.

Cheers,

Rower

No, I don't own one, nor have I ever used one. But all I have ever heard is really good things about it. ;):thumbup:

I've no experience with Spyderco's or Lansky's or the like......

but always looking for the easiest solution (i.e., cheapest & least labor intensive) a few months ago I found a Smith's knife sharpener plastic thingie for $5. You know the kind, it has carbide cutter blades, and you grab the handle and drag it down the blade.

well, I put the Smith's thingie in the vise and using a very firm grip on the knife handle and applying heavy pressure.... I drug the blade across the cutters. I tell ya, I was getting chips coming off !! After a few drags I had a nicely re-profiled edge that was sharp enough to cut some arm hair. Then after wailing away on my leather strop (with lots of green micro-fine honing compound) I now had an edge that was arm hair de-foresting S-H-A-R-P !!

I use the Smith thingie & stropping method on all my knives, SOG's and Kabar's and everything.... I discovered a $5 solution to re-profiling and razor sharp.

And of course, there's always the exception to the rule and that is the SOG Recondo: that BG-42 steel just laughs at those carbide cutters.

Cheers,

Carl