Sharpening system?

I don't want to post this question in the general forum because I want to know specifically what might be best for sharpening Spyderco knives. I want to get into sharpening my own blades. Is the sharpmaker a good place to start? Or Lansky? I am totally new to sharpening but I want to keep my P2 and Delica in keen condition. What do you other Spyderco enthusiasts recommend?

If you have a steady hand, I would go for bench stones. That is what I learned on, and I would happily put my edges against that of a guided system. I wouldn't say they are better, but they are close. I also think you get more enjoyment out of doing it free hand. If you are set on a system, the sharp maker is a good place to start, especially if you have serrations. How much money are you willing to spend is a big question. With systems, you get what you pay for. A good Edge pro or wicked edge would be the smartest move. Good luck, and if you need any tips about free handing in the mean time, PM me

I'm willing to spend like $200ish or so to start, more if I find I enjoy it and can produce a good edge.

I guess you're not familiar with an old Spyderco saying "first we made things sharp then we made sharp things".

I guess you're not familiar with an old Spyderco saying "first we made things sharp then we made sharp things".

Yeah I just went ahead and got the sharpmaker. Gonna give it a try. I've already quickly learned that I can't go wrong with Spyderco so why not try their sharpener?

Good choice I think you'll like it. Watch the DVD through a few times and try it out on some old knives to get the feel for it and you should be good to go.

I'd suggest getting the diamond hones as an accessory. It makes life a lot easier if you have any especially dull knives or your knife edge is not at the same angle as the Sharpmaker.