SOG Field Knife Sheath

Hi,

I've seen pictures (although not on the SOG site) of a Field Knife sheath with a strap for holding the knife in place, but SOG describes a friction fit (no strap means can only be mounted handle side up.

Anybody know if SOG changed the sheath or were some pictures incorrect?

Any comments on the sheath?

Pete

Pete, as far as I know the Field knife has always come with the Pouch style friction fit sheath. Ron Anderson or Chris@SOG would know for sure.

I make a leather sheath for the Field knife that has a retaining strap. Check my Signature line for pics. Is it the one you have seen? :)

Heber

If I recall the series of events correctly, an all leather sheath with restraining strap was issued for first generation Field Knives. The redesigned sheath was introduced when the Field Pup came to market. The new sheath was a leather/kydex hybrid friction fitting sheath.

Hope this helps.

Ron: thanks for the info. I have no experience with friction style sheaths, so I was a bit concerned about the knife staying put when put into a hip pack, etc.

Heber: I've actually seen both style of sheaths from SOG on various web sites. However, I have seen your pictures and like your sheaths a lot. Nice work. I might have to try giving my own sheath-making a go. Would be nice to have one that would strap to a belt with a snap, so it could be removed conveniently. It's surprising how few sheaths do this. I've got a Leatherman sheath (I own three different Leatherman multitools) that clips to a belt. But I like the ones you've made for the Field Knife.

kc0byy said:
Ron: thanks for the info. I have no experience with friction style sheaths, so I was a bit concerned about the knife staying put when put into a hip pack, etc.