Starting knife collection *absolute beginner*

Hi all,

I've never collected anything before. But I now want to start collecting knives. Unfortunately I have no clue about knives yet. At least I know what kind of knives I want to collect:

- Survival/Tactical knives
- Dagger knives
- Throwing knives

I also like historical knives, if you can call them that (replicas from knives/daggers used by historical characters).

I don't want to go cheap but not too expensive either at the beginning. I don't know the knife market yet, but I'd rather not buy knives which will lose their value over time.

Any advice? I just don't know where to start, what to buy, what not to but and to know if it's a good deal or I I'm getting ripped off :).

Thank you,

I wish i had known the better companies in the beginning. Kershaw/ZT, benchmade, and spyderco are all reputable knife companies. Coldsteel knives are not for everyone but they are rock solid knives. The only folders i have currently are 1 zt, 1 kershaw, 3 spydercos, and 2 saks. Also i would recommend making sure you really like the knife because on here there is a major temptation to trade and i have found that i have lost a lot of money from trading/selling/ and buying knives on impulse. Throwing knives = flying steel or cold steel throwers.

Shop around for great prices and at the exchange you will also find some pretty unbelievable prices.

Tactical is a pretty frowned upon fad here.

Good luck on your journey, because you will need it :D.

Hi all,

I've never collected anything before. But I now want to start collecting knives. Unfortunately I have no clue about knives yet. At least I know what kind of knives I want to collect:

- Dagger knives
- Throwing knives

I also like historical knives, if you can call them that (replicas from knives/daggers used by historical characters).