Steel testing underway...

Hey guys!
First post here, but I've posted a reasonable amount to other forums in the past. I'm posting here now because I'm doing some testing on a variety of steels that other people may find informative. Some examples of my past work (just to show I'm not a complete newb :D):

http://imgur.com/a/rXsQC
http://imgur.com/a/dNdyB
http://imgur.com/a/bM6Hj

Now, before I start let me just disclaim something: These tests are in no way the last word on these steels!

My sample sizes are too small, and my tests far too subjective for these tests to be authoritative. They're meant to give me a feel for each steel, and to be a good introduction for me to each one. This thread is not meant to start any steel holy wars. If anything I'm putting this stuff out there so that I can learn more from all you experienced folks!

-------

In the past my knives have been made from O1 that was heat-treated in a small 2 brick forge. I was overall happy with the results but found that I was getting a bit too much edge-rolling with the O1. I figured this was likely because of my heat-treat so I bought a kiln. Once I bought the kiln I realized that there was a whole world of steel out there, and that it was likely something else was better suited to my style of knives!

In order to decide which steel I wanted to use going forward I decided to make a variety of test blades in different steels and then put them through their paces.

The steels I'm testing are:

• O1 (homebrew heat-treat in small forge, for reference to my past knives)
  • O1
  • A2
  • CPM154
  • CPM3V
  • 440C

The test blades were ground from their respective stock, heat-treated, and then sand-blasted so that they would be as identical as possible. As I did each one I engraved the name of the steel in the handle area of the test blade. The heat treatment recipes were basically whatever the manufacturer recommended:

CPM3V
Preheat to 1500ºF, Equalize
Ramp to 2050ºF, hold for 20 minutes