Strider Folders - why so expensive?

Hey guys,

I'm new to knives and I'm in the market for a nice folder .... I've been checking out Emerson, Benchmade, Strider, etc...

I think the wave knives from Emerson are really cool .. and they're quite affordable.

Why are the Striders so expensive - specifically the RC? Emerson and Benchmade have cool patents on various locking and opening systems ... is there some sort of technology in the Striders that I'm missing?

I think the Strider RC looks amazing and I'd love to have one, but why is it $650 bucks? what justifies the cost - appearance, quality, technology?

Looking forward to your opinions...

rob

there probably isnt an easy answer to your questions.

i know titanium and s30v are difficult materials to work with, so may have something to do with cost. the recurve grind on the rc is also not easy. and i believe any knife with bolsters is more difficult to make.

if you look at the msrp for emerson's, the prices are similar to strider for a similar sized knife. ernies customs routinely sell for over 1000.00, though not if you get one directly from him, they are 550.00 if you are lucky enough to win the drawing.

im not a knifemaker but i also would speculate the folders prices also reflect the installation of the hinderer lock bar stabilizer on the framelocks.

if you like the striders, then the price is worth the knife. they never sell at below retail except on the secondary market.

and the rcc, the smaller version of the rc, is more affordable at 300.00

Robstar, check out the Kershaw Ti Bump in Blue or Green. Titanium handle Framelock with recurved polished S30V steel and fast assisted opening. MSRP only $275 but can usually be found for less on Ebay. Great knife!

BUMPS.jpg