Survivalist knife folks, a question.

My brand new CS Bushman Bowie arrived and it has a fire starter attached to the sheath.

I have been camping my entire life but have always used a cigarette lighter to start a camp fire.

I tried getting sparks to fly but nothing at all.

What's the trick here, do I need to scrape the coating off the blade?

Or you could leave the coating alone and use the edge of the knife right away... Ferro rod is soft, you are not going to chip the edge doing that.

I had to look it up because I didn't know that the Cold Steel Bushman came with a Ferro Rod of any kind. Doesn't look bad.

While I am no expert with ferro rods, I have a few of them and at the time I enjoyed playing with those things.

The Survivalist Handbook states that you are supposed to carry at the very least half a docen ways to make fire with you. If you are willing to carry the full docen, the better. And if they are fail-proof, indestructible, etc... the better.

BIC lighters are the first choice. Unless you smash it they don't run out of fuel over time (like Zippos, well known for the evaporating fuel). If you can get a hold on CLIPPERS gas ligthers, the better. They are like the BICs but on steroids if you ask me, and have a better shape for holding on to them with cold hands. Ligthing anything with an open flame is pretty straight forward, keep the flame on it untill it catches fire and you are done.