That's... not a knife. (New Kukri)

It's as thick as my Kephart is in the sheath!
Vp1sC9fm

Vwa16v8E

Gotta say, there's a LOT of cool in having a knife this big. And, a pile of impractical. But as an introduction to the Kukri, it's a place to start, and a beautiful piece of workmanship.

No, it's not a knife, it's an ax disguised as a knife. The weight is massive, and with my pipe-cleaner-esque arms it is wearisome to use. My little hand hatchet is of similar weight, but I seem to be able to go longer with it. That said, I've never used a tool like this one before and perhaps once I learn to work the geometry better I'll increase output with lower input. However, in its turn it gives me a nice edge near to the handle which, with all that weight on the end flies through bark when peeling sticks. Though, again, the same weight that pulls that area of the blade along the stick also... wears out my hands. So far, I love the idea of the Kukri and look forward to getting to know the format for a while using this bad-boy.

Oh, I almost forgot the little gem hiding in this package... the Karda (do I have the right word?) That tiny little knife is dandy. I like it more than I thought I ever would, which was none at all. It's just dandy though.

Thanks HI

Nice M-43. Which thread on here did you get it from? I'm curious about weight/length. Is that horn for the handle?

Nice M-43 man, I hope it brings you much pleasure and years of service. It takes some time and practice to get use to the way a khuk works and once you get it down it is one heck of a tool.