The next decade for Traditional Knives...words from the wise desired!

JonMcD

Gold Member
I’m by no means new to traditional knives. If my dad had pants on, there was a 4” stockman in his pocket. I’ve done the same all my life. But I am new to the hobby of collecting them.

So here’s my question to all of you who have multiple decades of experience collecting. In your opinion, where will the industry/hobby be in 10 years?

The last decade saw the rise of GEC , the fall of Queen and a billion $10 slipjoints coming out of China.

Do you predict steady healthy growth? An increase in flipping that creates a market bubble waiting to burst? Dust off the prophetic hats I know some of you have and give me some insight.

I’m a glutton for gaining wisdom from people smarter then me, and I’d love to know what I’m getting into as I start to collect knives that bring me a lot of joy.

"Bringing a lot of Joy" is what mainly keeps this collecting alive IMO!!
The knives I enjoy best from 10 or more years ago are well-made ones,
from competent companies. Or well-kept really old ones from companies that no longer exist!! Third category; custom made ones by genius knife makers like Tony Bose and Ken Erickson!!
I get bored with technology, and talking to phones and computers! I can spend quiet time contemplating a special knife!! Or I can use a well- designed one, made in a free country with reasonable laws and ethics, and enjoy life!!
I can't see much of that changing in 10 years!! Unless the rule of law get's overthrown!!:mad:

So here’s my question to all of you who have multiple decades of experience collecting. In your opinion, where will the industry/hobby be in 10 years?
I have absolutely no idea. I still think Alvin Toffler was right and future shock is alive and there for anyone to see.