Titanium vs. Aluminum handles

Pros and cons, scratch resistance, durability, what in the heck is anodizing anyway, hard anodizing, need for Ti anodizing, etc, etc.

Someone with the goods, lay it on us.

------------------
I don't want my children fed or clothed by the state, but I would prefer THAT to their being educated by the state.

Hiya Uncle Bill!
I'm no expert, obviously, but I'd go for the titanium over aluminum (That's Titaniumium and aluminium for our British friends) any day.
The main reason, for me, is that Titanium (or Titaniumium for our... aaahhhhhhh forget it. I'll just abbreviate 'em instead)
Tit seems to be easier to hold onto.
Tit's also more scratch resistant than Al, in my experience. I've carried a Sebenza with tit handles for a few years, not babying it at all, and the tit hardly has a scratch.
Al, on the other hand, tends to have more scratches and gouges.
As for anodizing Al or Tit, sorry. That's beyong my field of knowledge.
That's my 2 cents, for what it's worth.

VG

------------------
Vampire Gerbil: similar to a domestic gerbil, except for the odd accent and little black cape.

VG - "tit"? LOL
biggrin.gif

Uncle Bill - I have found that ti handles scratch easier than aluminum. My Sebenza has seen considerable use and the bead blasted ti handle shows it - it's got scratches and in some places scuffs. The aluminum handled knives I have (e.g. Benchmade, MicroTech, CRKT) are all hard coat anodized, which helps boost scratch resistance. Like the Sebenza, my BM Leopard has also seen plenty of action. While the blade may be scratched in some places, the handle still looks like it did when new. This my two pennies' worth....

------------------
Dexter Ewing
Knife Reviews Moderator
AKTI Member # A000005