Vietnam era SOG on Ebay

Has anyone seen it? Could it be real? I was thinking there are only a few of them left. The prices seems very low if it is only one of a very few.

The item number is: 160055605337

It looks real but I'm not an expert and it could certainly be a really good repro but thats a little unlikely as they all have some distinguishing mark...The price is knida low and its weird to see this on ebay... still a mystery

I'm looking at it, the price at 6:30pm SoCal time is $2,035, and "reserve" isn't met.
It's gonna be a pricey one, and way beyond my price point.

Cheers,

Carl

Even if it IS real, just look at it. :rolleyes:

It looks like a Pakistani made knock-off copy of a current SOG bowie.

Okay, this one may have some genuine Vee-yet-nam history behind it, but a crude knife is a crude knife.

What are buyers getting for their money? A wall hanger momento given to Special Forces soldiers AFTER they'd served? If it was a presentation piece (likely, since it has the crest on it), it hasn't even "seen combat". And even if it had, so? Police evidence rooms are full of knives that were used to kill people. Nothing special about that.

A modern-made SOG "replica" is a thousand times better.

what does he mean by "blood red blade" and "well engraved" engraved with what?

If I'm not mistaken SOG copied the vietnam seal knife, they didn't manufacture it. I think the SOG trident is the intended copy of the vietnam era knife. No SOG's were USmil issue combat knives for Vietnam. SOG is named after the group that designed the SEAL knife, not the original group, and not the original makers--right?

The Studies and Observation Group was authorized to order their own knives. I believe they was originally made by Randall, I think he made 50 knives. They was issued to the members of the group. While not a common Military issue, it was not uncommon to carry a personal choice knife. I personally carried a Gerber Mark II.