What do you really do with your knives

I have a couple dozen knives, nothing too fancy, lots of Himalyan Imports stuff, a couple Ka-Bars, spydercos, schrades, SAKs, etc. I like them all, but to be honest, I don't use them much. I try to carry a pocket knife, but I'm a lawyer, so I can't carry when I go to court and instead of worrying about forgetting to leave it in the truck, I just don't bother to put one in my pocket.

I hunt a little, but don't camp and rarely seem to "need" any of my knives. I use my khuks to chop down sumac and saplings in the yard. What do you guys do with your knives on a regular basis.

For what I've spent, I probably should have just bought a small sebenza and a nice kitchen knife which would cover most of my needs.

A Sebenza IS a nice kitchen knife. :)

For what you've bought, you've probably learned a lot that you wouldn't have known otherwise. How much use do you get from a painting hanging on a wall? Many knives are at least that decorative.

It's true that many people do not have serious daily use for an expensive knife. This is one reason so many hoplophobes are so unfamiliar as to be afraid of them. They feel they CAN dispense with them.

To each his own. Even among those of us who do or did use knives heavily or often, there is a great variety of opinion as to what makes an appropriate knife.

I like your painting analogy, Esav. Part of the appeal of knives to me is the appreciation of the "art in metal" that they represent.

I use it for SOOO much stuff. Hard to list it all.
Knifemaking: I've got packages to open, stuff to box up and ship, sandpaper to cut, epoxy to scrape, kydex to trim and deburr and on an on.

General stuff:Open stuff, cut loose threads, trim finger nails etc.

Barn work: opening horse feed when the thread on the bag breaks, opening bales of hay, cutting miscelanious stuff like broken halters or ropes or stuff.

Also have to skin stuff from time to time, set traps and all that good stuff.