What to do with subpar knives

So I'm new to making knives and I am trying to get better at grinding bevels. During this process I am producing fully functional blades but they all have minor flaws that make me unwilling to sell them to the public. What do I do with these blades until I start turning out blades I am happy with? Give them away? Throw them in a drawer and forget about them?

Thanks Aaron

So I'm new to making knives and I am trying to get better at grinding bevels. During this process I am producing fully functional blades but they all have minor flaws that make me unwilling to sell them to the public. What do I do with these blades until I start turning out blades I am happy with? Give them away? Throw them in a drawer and forget about them?

Thanks Aaron

Use them, put them in your toolbox, give them to people as testers. I have a bunch of knives out there like that.

I’m in a similar situation myself. My wife enjoys cooking, so I gave her a couple of my knives to test. I made a small machete and gave it to my brother in law. You could keep a few of them around so you could have something to look back on in a year or so to see how much you have improved.

if your really unhappy with them put them in an edc kit all different size pieces to use as ferro rod scrapers,heck i'll give you my address and i'll use them.You can use them in edc kits for lots of things,just having an emergency sharp edge can be useful ,I'm already using old Schrade & Victorinox blades and backsprings they throw spectacular sparks

Give them to friends and family, so long as the issues are only cosmetic and will not effect function. I have done this many times, and all ha e been well received and appreciated.

Torture test them. Baton with them. Drive one through a log like a spike with a hammer. Try to reharden them. How hard can you get them? When exactly will the edge chip? When will it roll? Why?