1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wood for axe handle

Discussion in 'Axe, Tomahawk, & Hatchet Forum' started by JakeKnives, Oct 12, 2018.

1. JakeKnives

JakeKnives

Jul 5, 2018
    I am new to axe restorations and picked up two old heads for $2. and I am wondering what wood I should use for a handle, But I have no access to Hickory in my area.

Square_peg likes this.
  2. survivor45

survivor45

Feb 15, 2018
    Are you planning on making the handles yourself?
    Ash is one used a lot. Not sure what part of the country you live in but If you can find a good lumber store or a wood worker store. They should have a good selection of wood.

Yankee Josh and JakeKnives like this.
  3. Square_peg

Square_peg

Feb 1, 2012
    What types of hardwood trees are in your area? Besides ash which is a good choice, rock maple or other hard maple can make an acceptable handle. Black locust is great wood for handles though it has a tendency warp while drying. But if you find a good straight piece it can make an excellent handle. Plus it's rot resistant. Honey locust, birches and beech can all serve as decent axe handles. Osage orange is another excellent choice if you can find a long straight piece.

Have a look at this chart.
    [​IMG]

I think the key figure is the modulus of rupture - breaking strength. You'd like to stay above 9000 lbs. per inch^2, but can make do with down to 8000.

Modulus of elasticity will make the handle more comfortable to use and more shock absorbing.

4. Fmont

Fmont Gold Member Gold Member

Apr 20, 2017
    What size axes are we taking about? Pretty much any woodworkers supply store that carries lumber like Rockler, Woodcraft, a local similar place, etc. should have hardwood suitable to the task. Probably including hickory. I was in a Woodcraft several weeks ago and there was plenty of hickory, from 4/4 boards to big live edge slabs.

5. Ernest DuBois

Ernest DuBois