Your list of top 5 "must-own" traditionals?

Howdy all,

There may be a thread on this but my search-fu isn't strong enough to find it.

I'm just beginning to become more aware of the variety of traditionals out there and am overwhelmed at the choices. So, knowing what you know now, help a potential new collector out.

If someone were to want to start their collection with a good sample of "great" traditionals, what top five "must-own's" would you recommend?

Go!

These are not in any particular order, but here are mine.

1: Peanut
2: Medium Stockman
3. Sodbuster
4. Mini-Trapper
5. TL-29

OK, here's my list if you're starting out; mind you, I thinking Case knives, which give you the most bang for your buck over any other USA made blade...

1. Stockman, medium size, with spey blade
2. Texas Jack in CV
3. Whittler
4. Physician/Doctor/Pharmacist pattern with spatula
5. Congress

...and lastly, to round out your collection, a single bladed lockback mini Copperlock. That should get you started, and as the obsession takes hold, you'll be looking at all German made examples of traditionals, and if you want to splurge, then other USA offerings from GEC, etc. If you become certifiable, then a custom made of your favorite pattern, which will easily set you back close to 4 figures. I have a supply of pre-ban elephant ivory, and I wanted a custom maker to make me a simple Stockman, in a simple 1095 steel, and I would supply the ivory...he wanted $995.00, so I guess I'll stay away from customs; that's Colt 1911 money. Good luck.

The most coveted at the moment is a case Bose Norfolk or a Case Bose pruner.

Regards

Robin

For me, it's a matter of history.

Stockman. Too much cutting packed into a pocket size package to ignore.

Barlow. Where would Huck and Tom be without one?

Scout. When I was growing up, it was a boys first 'real' knife.

Sodbuster. Lot;s od old time history in that one. Both here and in eastern Europe.

Peanut. Do I have to go there?:D