Zero bevel or micro bevel and why?

Joe Duder

Gold Member
I am new to convex ground knives. I recently purchased a fiddleback hunter variant. The blade came with a 5/32" convex grind with a convex micro-bevel. I felt that the blade wasn't as sharp as it could be, so I reprofiled it to a convex zero bevel. It's now much sharper than when I received it. It's shaving sharp but not hair popping sharp (perhaps I need to hone my convex sharpening skills).

I'm left with a quizzical feeling of maybe I should have kept the micro-bevel.:confused:

Question time.
What are the pros and cons of having a convexed micro-bevel?

Which do you prefer and why?

Do fiddlebacks come hair popping sharp?

I'm a weekend hiker and fisherman. I am just starting to get into wood carving, whittling walking sticks, spoons, decorative wood garden art, and some light batoning and feather sticks. I expect my knife to hold up well while performing those tasks as well as be on the easier side to resharpen in the field.

The Duder is new to posting, so you'll have to excuse me if I haven't provided ample details.

I'm gonna get killed for saying this here but I don't think you can ever get convex to hair popping sharp. It's the geometry of the blade.

There are several excellent advantages to using convex (on paper at least) but, for me, they've all fell short since I can't ever get a convex blade to be really really sharp. And invariably, people's response when I say this is always "Well you aren't sharpening it right". And there's probably some truth to that. To me, that in itself (hard to sharpen correctly) is something in the negative column for convex. I can't seem to sharpen my scandi bushfinger INCORRECTLY. And that thing is scalpel sharp...and I can always seem to get it even sharper if I want. There's no wrong way to sharpen it.

I have a ladyfinger with a convex microbevel from Andy and I'm keeping it on. In fact, as wear increases, I may try to grow that bevel out a bit.