ZOMBIES! No, really

Okay, there's a million kinds of zombies and other things- everyone remembers the ultimate lone wolf survivor in The Omega Man, right?

But as a scenario for survival, does anyone else look at this as a 'serious' joke? It could be rabid overbreeding dogs, or zombies, or just an invasion of half starved people eating post EOTWAWKI stragglers.

How are you prepared for forting up? for having to shoot 500 rounds in a couple hours to keep the zombies/birds/dogs/mutant ostriches away? What if physical contact with a particular animal really WAS death?

I have a SHTF combat/survival bag built on an Eberlestock pack and a couple thousand square miles of empty foothills and mountains in my backyard. A Ultra 87 shotgun is going in the side scabbard, with the Savage 10FP in the backscabbard and I'll be toting either my FAL or Wilson AR in hand. The Taurus 357 revolver will be on my ankle and the SW 6946 on my hip. I'm used to packing heavy so another 30 pounds of guns and ammo on top of the 80 I already carry isn't going to be a whole lot. I'll be putting as much distance between me and any form of civilization I can. Found a nice little spot this weekend, up in Seven Devils, there are valleys 1000 feet deep surrounded by rock cliffs with clear mountain streams and lakes full of brook trout with plenty of ground birds, rodents, deer and goats. It is separated by a town of 500 people by a 17 mile long 1 lane gravel road that hugs a cliff side all the way to the top. There is one pass that goes into sheep lake and it can be easily covered by a single person with a bolt action rifle. If I have time to make it that far, that's where I'll be, with my new Koyote Leuku and my RC-5, eating trout and drinking clear mountain water.

If it's zombies I'm going to the nearest mall and fight them off from there.