AX SHARPENING WITH POWER TOOLS

Hello everyone

I've posted on BladeForums in the past about sharpening axes with power tools. I have found a video on YouTube that will probably interest lots and lots of axemen.

Please go to YouTube and watch axe sharpening with power tools Hoffman Black Smithing.

I have used a cheap, cheap Harbor Freight 1" belt grinder for years and have never got a blade hot to the point of ruining the heat treat on the cutting edge. Mr. Hoffman has a professional grinder that I sure do wish that I could justify purchasing for my axe hobby. I am a insurance agent.

Many people who first read my post were, I believe, upset with the idea of power tools. Maybe this video will help.

ripshin

Hi Square_peg

I again watched the video and Mr. Hoffman is grinding after heat treat. I love this video and just wish that I could justify buying the professional belt sander he has in his shop. I have a hobby and he has a business.

ripshin

The logical labour-saving extension of promoting/encouraging power tools to quickly/effortlessly sharpen axes is merely to invest in a chainsaw. My local small engine shop offers a saw chain sharpening service. For $10-15 you get an automated rotary tool sharpened uniformly ground chain back within 15 minutes. Three or four of these 'make-overs' and it becomes time to invest in a new chain. Me, on the other hand, judiciously using hand files get sharper edges and many more years out of a chain. I would think the same goes for an axe.

Too many otherwise clueless people just repeat something they read online what they percieved as "voice of authority".

Understand the process & Nothing wrong with using powertools.

Said that, only time I use powered grinding, I am changing profile or recovering a badly neglected or damaged tool.
I use powered polish & stropping always.