Bark River Trailmate

CVamberbonehead

Gold Member
Hi everyone, I have a question that I cant seem to find much on. Is the Bark River Trailmate any good? I bought one online (a2 steel and bocote wood), but it hasnt yet shipped. I was wondering if anyone has had any good or bad experience with these knives? There isnt much info on the internet it seems, just a lot of talk about the owner of BRK, Mike Stewart. I have no experience with him, so I cant speak to that. I just want to know how the community feels about the knives themselves, specifically the Trailmate.
Also, does Bark River use stabilized wood? I have never had or heard of bocote wood, and I want something durable. I am a hunter and angler, and general outdside kind of guy, so I dont want a knife that I have to baby. The Trailmate seems like a good design and I like the materials on paper, but this knife will work for a living so it needs to be a good one.
It just seems like I cant get the straight scoop here online. Just lots of drama. I really dont want any drama in this thread please so lets all stay civil and keep the focus where it belongs, on the product. Im sorry if this seems like a silly question, its just tough to wade through all the b.s. here online, so Im asking directly.

As far as the knives go. I've heard a ton of good about them. I'm sure someone with personal experience will chime in shortly but FWIW I've seen great reviews of Bark River by several in the know knife knuts. I think you made a good choice. :thumbsup::D

...Is the Bark River Trailmate any good? I bought one online (a2 steel and bocote wood), but it hasnt yet shipped. I was wondering if anyone has had any good or bad experience with these knives?...
It's a bit late to ask. Having said that, let us know what you think after using it for a while.