Guided or Freehand sharpening...

That is the question!:
So i am here again, 93 days later ive still not placed an order for a Guided system.

I decided on the Kadet, it went out of stock, swapped over to the Hapstone R2 black, then i was in a massive debate on the stones - as a total beginner i was reluctant to buy the Premium CBN's but then was like man, buy once cry once.

Well i was about to pull the trigger and buy it

r/sharpening - Its a real hard one...

But then im like damn, do i wanna spend a grand to sharpen my low end kitchen knives!?

More digging and talking to others, i am now back at square one.

Should i just get Atoma Diamond plates and free hand, albeit, ive tried for a year and failed at freehand with my whetstones.

Or should i consider the RS and some Carbide stones?

I am in the UK so i really dont need to be chasing mirrors on them sexy EDC's as we simply dont have a big market over here, so ill be working on kitchen knives mainly.

can someone please help me make sense of this minefield.

I WILL be investing in some decent kitchen knives and a CR EDC, i dont plan on working on others knives but i will do friends and families once im Ok...,

I use a hapstone V 8 with a set of 3 CKTG diamond plates. I feel the magnetic table of the V 8 is more versatile than a clamp system. Especially when it comes to large blades, think 10 in chef's knife, or small blades, think secondary blades on a slip joint. But if you're more comfortable with clamps, then get clamps. Diamond plates are cheap. About $10 apiece. If you're just sharpening standard steels aluminum oxide stones work fine. But the diamond plates cost less, work on any steel, and at least for me having lasted longer than the aluminum oxide stones. The chefs knives to go set is 120, 400, and 1000 grit. The 1000 grit is about 15 microns. Other retailers sell similar sets.

O.B.