in love with 5160

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etHzQ2-4UpM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
This is my second test on this blade , I broke the tip because I wanted to see how thin I could go on a bigger blade with this new heat treat.

So I have been using 5160 for a couple of years now and never had these results with it, I can not get enough of this knife, I go out every day and baton, chop, carve, and cut cardboard and this blade keeps slicing paper and shaving hair with minimal stropping. I dont think I will use another steel, maybe 52100 for smaller blades.

I will post more testing on this blade after I take it camping! :D

I watched the first 3 minutes (about my attention span). It looks like you were putting the knife through its paces. Is this a knife that you made?
I know that a lot of makers like 5160 for chopping and batoning and such.

I watched the first 3 minutes (about my attention span). It looks like you were putting the knife through its paces. Is this a knife that you made?
I know that a lot of makers like 5160 for chopping and batoning and such.
Yes this knife was made by me.

Very cool, ive thought about using 52100 in my next batch of knives I make. But this may make me change my mind... what's the hardness at?

looks like everything came together just right on that one. did you HT that yourself or send it out??

Very cool, ive thought about using 52100 in my next batch of knives I make. But this may make me change my mind... what's the hardness at?
It has a 400 degree temper so about 58 to 60 hrc. But I would have to get it tested

looks like everything came together just right on that one. did you HT that yourself or send it out??
I have a paragon kiln so I can do my own heat treats. I have used the manufacturers suggested heat treat and did not get these results, I will never go back lol

Can you describe the factory heat treatment and what you did different?

(Manufacturer's recommended heat treat)