1. Welcome to the New & Improved BladeForums. New software info here. Please report problems in Tech Support, and read existing threads before posting! - Spark
  2. I've changed the default forum style to Flat Awesome based on feedback. Don't like it? Click here to change how the forums look Feedback on this is welcome here.

in love with 5160

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by chad2, May 11, 2013.

1. chad2

chad2

Sep 2, 2011
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etHzQ2-4UpM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
    This is my second test on this blade , I broke the tip because I wanted to see how thin I could go on a bigger blade with this new heat treat.

So I have been using 5160 for a couple of years now and never had these results with it, I can not get enough of this knife, I go out every day and baton, chop, carve, and cut cardboard and this blade keeps slicing paper and shaving hair with minimal stropping. I dont think I will use another steel, maybe 52100 for smaller blades.

I will post more testing on this blade after I take it camping! :D

2. Bo T

Bo T

Feb 12, 2011
    I watched the first 3 minutes (about my attention span). It looks like you were putting the knife through its paces. Is this a knife that you made?
    I know that a lot of makers like 5160 for chopping and batoning and such.

3. chad2

chad2

Sep 2, 2011
    Yes this knife was made by me.

4. Jastab

Jastab

Jan 31, 2013
    Very cool, ive thought about using 52100 in my next batch of knives I make. But this may make me change my mind... what's the hardness at?

5. redd1981

redd1981

Oct 4, 2011
    looks like everything came together just right on that one. did you HT that yourself or send it out??

6. applevalleyjoe

applevalleyjoe

Aug 18, 2010
    5160 :thumbup:

7. chad2

chad2

Sep 2, 2011
    It has a 400 degree temper so about 58 to 60 hrc. But I would have to get it tested